Banh mi, the best street food in the world.

“A little-known secret is that the world’s best sandwich isn’t found in Rome, Copenhagen or even New York City, but on the streets of Vietnam.”

– The Guardian

Well, it is internationally accepted that banh mi is the best sandwich, and as a Vietnamese, I couldn’t be more proud to see my national food worldwide acknowledged.

Typically, they’re made on light, crackly baguettes with fluffy, cloud-like insides – the perfect canvas for rich, savory meats, sweet and sour sweet pickled carrot and daikon (winter radish), fresh cilantro and spicy jalapenos. The combination of flavors and textures is something that people will fall in love with, once they’re tried them.

I had organised some international sport tournaments during 3 years when I was an event planner in Vietnam. I accidentally listened to some of my guests talking in front of the tournament hotel, saying:

– Hey let’s have Vietnamese sandwich for dinner man.

– Sure, man. That’s so yum. What shall we have tomorrow breakfast?

– Vietnamese sandwich again man.

I just simply felt funny to hear it back then, but now, I know that is a privilege.

banh mi

Banh mi has many favors like ham, meat, fish pie, fluffy pemmican, eggs, and more new favors lately added. My favorite is omelette banh mi with soy sauce which is the key to activate the deliciousness of the egg, herbs and banh mi combination.


Keep in touch! Give me a buzz if you would want to discuss more about the food and recipe.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome, I have been very street food inspired lately so this is fantastic (:

    Like

    1. favnpa says:

      Good on you! Asian countries are famous for their street food, and Vietnam is one of the best! Let me know which one you wanna try most, I’ll give you some tips 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve tried this sandwich when in Vietnam this February. Absolutely stunning! So good, that even when full I’d eat one more ;))

    Like

    1. favnpa says:

      Glad you like it 🙂
      I have been eating it for more than 25 years of my life, but I’m still loving it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

